Employment Services Resource Page

Welcome to our resource page. These resources have been collated to provide a comprehensive listing of online tools, policy documents, background reading, and case-studies relating to employment services.

This is a “work in progress” with new content being added on a regular basis.

Background

Action Plan for Jobs: http://www.djei.ie/publications/2014APJ.pdf

Interim Report; Labour Market Council: http://www.welfare.ie/en/downloads/interim-report-of-the-labour-market-council.pdf

Central Statistics Office (Labour Market). http://www.cso.ie/en/statistics/labourmarket/

Stakeholders

Intreo: http://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/Intreo_home.aspx

Solas: http://www.solas.ie/

Education & Training Boards Ireland: http://www.etbi.ie/

Skillnets: http://www.skillnets.ie/

Springboard: http://www.springboardcourses.ie/

Labour Market, Employment & Employability

Expert Group on Future Skills Needs: http://www.skillsireland.ie/

Careless to Careful Activation: making activation work for women  http://www.nwci.ie/download/pdf/carelesscarefulactivationreport_final.pdf

SOLAS. Labour Market Information: http://lmi.fas.ie/

Industry Practice

High Level Issues Paper emanating from a Review of Department of Social Protection Employment Support Schemes: https://www.welfare.ie/en/pressoffice/pdf/High%20Level%20Issues%20Paper%20-%20Employment%20Support%20Schemes.pdf

Evaluation of the Labour Market Activation Fund (LMAF) 2010: Final Report http://www.education.ie/en/Publications/Corporate-Reports/Financial-Reports-List/lmaf_report.pdf

Employability Skills From Framework to Practice.  Commonwealth of Australia 2006 http://www.nssc.natese.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0010/69454/Employability_Skills_From_Framework_to_Practices.pdf

Merlin Standard (Supply Chain). http://www.merlinstandard.co.uk/

Report on Effective Career Guidance:  http://www.career-guide.eu/uploads/cg_handbook_low.pdf (Valuable collation of theory and practice. EU Project, CareerGuide network).

OECD: Career Guidance. A Handbook for Policy Makers: http://www.oecd.org/education/innovation-education/34060761.pdf

ILO.  Career Guidance. A Resource Handbook for Low and Middle-Income Countries: http://www.ilo.org/youthmakingithappen/PDF/career_guidance.pdf

Professional Development

Institute of Employability Professionals: http://www.iemployability.org/

Irish Institute of Training & Development: http://www.iitd.ie/

Institute of Guidance Counsellors: http://www.igc.ie/

Projects and Initiatives

National Employment Week: http://www.nationalemploymentweek.ie/

Worklink: http://www.worklink.ie/

Momentum Skills: http://www.momentumskills.ie/

Research Papers

Carrots, No Stick, No Driver: The Employment Impact of Job Search Assistance in a Regime with Minimal Monitoring and Sanctions (UCD Geary Institute. 2013) http://ideas.repec.org/p/ucd/wpaper/201308.html

ESRI Labour Market Reports: http://www.esri.ie/research/research_areas/labour_market/

Nevin Economic Research Institute.  The Irish Labour Market Since the Recession. Lifting The Veil On Long Term Trends. http://www.nerinstitute.net/research/the-irish-labour-market-since-the-recession/

Other Useful Sites

Grad Ireland http://gradireland.com/

Monster.ie: http://www.monster.ie/

Hireland: http://www.hireland.ie/